Currently, there are no requirements for someone in Florida to become a licensed home inspector (with the Exception of Charlotte County). Senate Bill 2234 was passed on June 28, 2007 however which will require all home inspectors in the state of Florida to carry a Florida Home Inspector License to be able to perform home inspections within the state. This bill also regulates mold remediation licensing but with different requirements. The Florida Home Inspector Licensing Law goes into effect July 1, 2010 and will require home inspectors to meet the following licensing requirements:
- Be of good moral character;
- Have a high school diploma or its equivalent;
- Complete a course of study (approved by the department) of no less than 120 hours that covers the following components: structure, electrical, HVAC, roof, plumbing, interiors, exteriors and site conditions that affect the structure; 20 hours of training must be obtained from field-training (obtained from the 20-hour lab)
- Maintain a commercial general liability insurance policy in an amount not less than $300,000.
- Apply to the department to take a licensure examination;
Grandfathering Clause (expired)
There is a grandfathering clause in the law that allows any inspector who is already performing inspections in Florida and meets the requirements of the bill by July 2010 to be grandfathered in. That means that getting certified now will give you a chance to be grandfathered in and avoid the rush to get licensed in the months after the home inspector bill goes into effect.
Click the links on the side of the page to find out more about the licensing law or courses offered by Professional Home Inspection Institute.